Hello

16 Jun

Welcome to my new blog, New Ethics for News. My primary purpose is to provide a forum for my University of Idaho media ethics students to discuss current ethics cases. But there may be times when I use this blog as a forum for my own response to changes in the media ethics landscape.

This blog replaces earlier efforts, including News is a Conversation, Still a Newspaperman and Journalism Still Matters. Each of those blogs served a purpose and for each the time has passed.

Now, my focus is on my students, doing my best to prepare them for a media world that bears almost no resemblance to the world I knew in 1973 when I graduated from the University of Oregon and joined the staff of The Eugene Register-Guard.

But as I tell my students, though practices have changed in ways unimagined 40 years ago, the core values of our craft remain. I am dedicated to perpetuating those values.

Steve Smith

Leave a Reply

