The New York Shooting photos

28 Aug

Hello,

Today in class we looked at photos published, respectively, by the New York Daily News and The New York Times following last week’s shooting outside the Empire State Building.

We had a good discussion on the use of the photos and this thread allows for a continuation of that debate. Were the photos appropriate for print or web publication?

What do you think?

steve

The New York Times photo of shooting victim

The New York Daily News photo of the dead shooter

6 Responses to “The New York Shooting photos”

  1. Kaitlin Moroney August 28, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    I really don’t agree with the papers having run either of these pictures, but especially the one the New York Times did. It was far too graphic and unnecessary. Although I can understand their reasoning, I feel like there are other effective ways to get the point across that gun violence is an awful thing without showing a victim laying on the ground with his blood streaming into the gutter.

  2. Lindsey Treffry (@_LindseyTreffry) August 28, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    I think these are great photos, but I would not run them. I don’t think the photos of something that happens daily (minus location) makes for good news. On the other hand, I would love to see a photo of one of the victims hit/ in pain by police misfire. For me, that’s the real story.

  3. caitlinhague August 29, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    I think these are both iconic photos and from a photographers standpoint, they are incredible and once-in-a-lifetime. However, I think they were wrong in running the photo of the victim. How horrible for his family that his picture circulated so fast and has been gawked at by so many people with no personal attachment. I might run the photo of the shooter because he lost his rights to privacy and protection as far as I’m concerned.

  4. alishasweeney August 30, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Like a majority of students said in class, I think the first photo in the The New York Times was far too graphic to have in a news story. The vibrance of the blood makes it feel like a surreal video game scene. And to think about those who knew him seeing the image is disturbing. I cannot imagine how I would feel if that were my uncle, cousin or father.

    On the contrary, I believe the photo from the New York Daily is reasonable. Like Caitlin said in her response, when he shot a man in public he lost his rights to privacy. Also, the image isn’t nearly as gruesome as the one prior. There is blood present, yet it is darker and not as noticeable. If it were my decision, I would have printed this photo with ease.

  5. Meredith Metsker (@MeredithMetsker) September 2, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I also would not run either of this photos. While they are both very well photographed, these pictures are far too graphic to run with this story. Especially the photo of the victim. What family member wants to see their father/husband/brother/son dead and lying in a pool of his own bright red blood in The New York Times? It’s too personal and unnecessary. I agree with Lindsey. Photos of other victims shot by police misfire or emotional bystanders would make for a more reasonable representation of this story. If the photo of the shooter wasn’t so close and his features were not as recognizable then I would consider running the photo.

  6. Olivia Calza September 4, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    I think that reporting the story is enough for the public, and that the photos should not be shown. Maybe a link to them would be acceptable, but the chances of these hurting people before helping them is too great, even in the case of the shooter – his family does not need to see his body on the front page either. My burning question was the same as Lindsey and Meredith’s – why did all those other people get shot when the man wasn’t shooting back? I want to know about excessive force used by the police, or if any of my friends were hurt in the crowd.

Leave a Reply

